A PHYSICS DISCOVERY THAT COULD NOT BE PUBLISHED

So I have been going through my old files again. One interesting (to me anyway) bit turned up.

I had developed the “magnetohydroelectric (MHE) theory” to parallel magnetohydrodynamics (MHD). The latter takes place in a conducting fluid while the former takes place in a purely nonconducting fluid.

At the root of MHD is the well-known force on a current-carrying conductor in a magnetic field. At the root of MHE is the conjectured force on a current-carrying dielectric in a magnetic field.

So I set out to demonstrate this conjectured force experimentally, initially referring to a solid dielectric. This work did not fit my job description, but I obtained permission to do this.

It was a most difficult experiment, but I think I was able to verify the effect quite convincingly.

However, the report could not be published. This was not because of any scientific reason. The journal thought the paper was not “mature”.

A fundamental result of basic electromagnetic theory could not be recorded.

So, before consigning the file to the trash can in the process of winding down my scientific life, I thought I would put this up here for anyone interested. Note that this is a large pdf file.

MECHANICAL FORCE ON DIELECTRIC POLARIZATION CURRENT IN A MAGNETIC FIELD (pdf, 80 MB)

Leave a Reply

